Inveraray Jail Break Run 2011 | Inveraray Jail

Inveraray Jail Break Run 2011

Race Report 2011

Ready to go!

The Third Inveraray Jail Break run did not enjoy the blue skies of previous years but nonetheless records were smashed as a field of 36 took on the challenge of Dun Na Cuiche. After torrential rain the day before runners were warned of slippery conditions on the route with loose stones and low branches adding to the fun. The front runners were soon circling the tower and making ready for the descent. Peter Davenport (27.04)

Peter Davenport Winner 2011

and Tom Smith (27.49) raced down the hill clearly in the lead with Peter breaking the previous course record by 1 minute and 42s. Paul Thompson (29.00)coming in 3rd overall and first Male Veteran broke his own record set in 2009 by 14s closely followed by first female Nicola Meekin (29.36) . Nicola took the FS course record set in 2010 by a magnificent 2m 58s. The male Juniors David McAllister (30.37) and Toby Corner (32.27) had a fast and furious race with David coming home 5th overall, and first Mid Argyll finisher with Toby finishing 8th.

Support for the last few yards!

The minutes between 34-36 were busy ones for timekeepers Bill McCallum and Jacquie Patrick with the majority of runners coming in. John Dale (34.19) from Mid Argyll Triathlon Club did the local runners proud by taking the third Male Veteran prize. In the Female Veteran category all prizes stayed in Mid Argyll with Dinah Bosomworth (38.10),Ormsary retaining first place for the second year running. Liz Taylor Feeney (43.10) was next in followed by race organiser Fiona Corner (45.58). First female junior Freya Corner (44.00)and record holder from last year was having a tactical run overtaking Minard’s Kirsten Paterson,(44.08) taking part in her first hill race seconds from the line. Marshals and First aiders provided fantastic support as always and were much appreciated for their cheerful encouragement. Bananas and Water were available at the finish line courtesy of David and Kathy Owen ,Londis, tablet made by Shannon, Argyll Adventure was a hit for the third year running. Spot Prizes were kindly provided by Purdie’s Soap Shop and inveraray jogscotland. The organisers would like to thank His Grace The Duke of Argyll for allowing the race to take part in the beautiful Estate grounds and Inveraray Jail for their sponsorship and prizes. Special thanks to the timekeepers, John Patrick for his photography and Marcus Van Stone for all his help.

Fiona at the finish

Fiona Corner was running the race whilst having chemotherapy treatment for breast cancer as part of her three races to raise funds for The Mid Argyll chemotherapy Unit. Since the Crinan Puffer, her first race, she has raised £462 taking the total to £762. She would like to thank everyone who has sponsored and supported her especially members of the Mid Argyll Triathlon Club and inveraray/Mid Argyll/Ormsary jogscotland groups.

Inveraray Jail Break 2011 Results

Results 2011

Category Places

Male senior 18-39 years

1st Peter Davenport Bellahouston RR 27.04

2nd Tom Smith Lochaber A.C 27.49

3rd Tom Barr Hunter Bug Trotters 31.00

Female senior 18-39 years

1st Nicola Meekin Lochaber A.C 29.36

2nd Angela Park Perth RR 34.37

3rd Sarah Walker Helensburgh 36.52

Male Veteran 40 years and over

1st Paul Thompson Helensburgh 29.00

2nd Alan Murray Ochil hill Runners 31.09

3rd John Dale Mid Argyll Triathlon Club 34.19

Female Veteran 40 years and over

1st Dinah Bosomworth Ormsary 38.10

2nd Liz Taylor Feeney MATCC/jogscotland 43.10

3rd Fiona Corner MATCC /jogscotland 45.58

Male Junior

1st David MacAllister Lochgilphead 30.37

2nd Toby Corner Mid Argyll Athletics club

Female Junior

1 Freya Corner Mid Argyll Athletics club

Place Race No Time Name
1 23 27.04 Peter Davenport
2 12 27.49 Tom Smith
3 17 29.00 Paul Thompson
4 2 29.36 Nicola Meekin
5 25 30.37 David McAlister
6 10 31.00 Tom Barr
7 6 31.09 Alan Murray
8 42 32.27 Toby Corner
9 15 34.16 Gregor McGregor
10 30 34.19 John Dale
11 29 34.44 Iain Thistlethwaite
12 34 34.47 Angela Park
13 31 35.05 Tony Thistlethwaite
14 35 35.06 Johnathan Wier
15 32 35.45 David MacPherson
16 1 36.06 Neil Campbell
17 11 36.52 Sarah Walker
18 7 37.04 Bill Halliday
19 21 38.10 Dinah Bosomworth
20 28 38.23 Naomi Dixon
21 22 38.25 John MacKenzie
22 16 39.01 Andy McKay Hubbard
23 24 39.03 David Payne
24 20 40.37 David Ferguson
25 27 40.45 Ken MacDougall
26 13 41.09 Jo McGuire
27 8 41.21 Garret Corner
28 26 42.26 Rebecca Helliwell
29 19 43.10 Liz Feeney
30 18 43.23 Kerry McKay Hubbard
31 4 44.00 Freya Corner
32 9 44.08 Kirsten Paterson
33 33 45.51 Matt Tierney
34 5 45.58 Fiona Corner
35 3 49.29 Ian McManus
36 14 50.20 Mary Cuttle

Course Records

MS Peter Davenport 2011 27.04

MV Paul Thompson 2011 29.00

MJ Paul Cameron 2009 28.54

FS Nicola Meekin 2011 29.36 FV

FV Dinah Bosomworth 2010 37.0

FJ Freya Corner 2010 40.07

Buy Your Tickets Online and Save Money
Buy Now